Spain has 5 national channels. 2 Public service channels - TVE 1 & 2 are both state owned by Television Espanola tax funded, no licence fee, but the channels still run commercials.
In 1990 other three privately owned networks launched first Antena 3, then Tele Cinco and finally Canal+.
There are numerous terrestrial local channels these include TV3 and Canal 33 for Catalunya, TVG for Galicia, Canal Sur for Andalucia and Canal 9 for Valencia.
The first digital tv channel launched in 1997, there are now hundreds of channels available just like Sky Digital.